cinnamon coffee cake touchdown

My first project for this blog coincided nicely with Superbowl Sunday, also known as Evening Of Excessive Eating. I figured that since I’m starting Triathlon training this week I deserved one last tango in the arms of Gluttony. Or at least in the collective embrace of butter and’ eggs.

So what to bring to the Great American Football Party? A late morning and a lazy afternoon yielded little inspiration for forays into the unknown world of new recipes or complicated appetizers.

And so I turned to The Book: a sturdy collection of our family favourites, lovingly copied out in my mother’s own handwriting. I flipped to her recipe for Sour Cream Coffee Cake.

This cake has a history. It’s simple cinnoman flavour and almost cheesecake-like density have made it the ultimate comfort food over recent years. It was there the day I moved into my new house full of roommates in 3rd year. It was there whenever I returned home, offering its crumbs of nutty, rich, just-sweet-enough-for-a-cup-of-coffee goodness. Apparently someone at Canada Post likes it too, because one was once “lost” in the mail en route to a Ward family member.

I made it for the gang, and it was a hit.

This cake reveals a slight swirl of cinnamon and pecans, achieved by layering them between boughts of dough in my favourite pan: Bundt bundt bundt. I just love the way that sounds. Apparently it was invented by an American engineer from Minneapolis who wanted a lighter version of the German ceramic Bund pan.

While this cake was the perfect companion to a potluck, it did make me a little homesick. I guess that means it turned out well.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blend well: 1 c butter, 2c sugar, 2 eggs, 1 c sour cream, 1/2 t vanilla

Add: 2c flour, 1t baking powder, 1/4 t salt

Combine in a small bowl: 4t sugar, 2t cinnamon, 1 c chopped pecans

In a greased and floured Bundt pan, layer 1/3 batter and 1/3 topping. Repeat 2 more times. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

3 responses to “cinnamon coffee cake touchdown

  1. I was amazed at the warm memories this coffee cake conjured up in my mind. I had an awesome coffee cake recipe from my Home Ec class back in Junior High. My family raved about it whenever I made it – way back then. Over the years, I have forgotten about the homey-ness (is that a word?) of coffee cake. I can’t wait to try your recipe!

  2. My 4 yr old nephew told me something smelled really good while this coffee cake baked in my oven. It was out on the counter cooling and he never forgot about it. He was determined to have a taste before he went home tonight even if it was too hot. He gave it 1 thumbs up while his other hand was busy spooning coffee cake into his mouth. With added CoolWhip – 2 thumbs up!
    Needless to say, this tasty treat disappeared fairly quickly tonight….guess I’ll have to make it again!

  3. Pingback: simple roast chicken « Fresh Cracked Pepper

Leave a Reply

